Extra: New month, new line up

November! The month of cool weather, eating more than we should, watching leafs fall and buying an unnecessary amount of apple cinnamon scented candles. Oh and anime. There’s a lot of that. A lot.
My line up of shows this month is… interesting. Not my usual fare all around, but these days, what is?

First up is Erin, a show that I just wrapped up. And got a bit confused by. Sounds nice at first. Little girl grows up with a strange ability to understand and communicate with animals. Awww, right? Well, not really. Peeps die, she ends up getting played by a corrupt government that enjoys poisoning people and more people die. Suffice to say, I have no clue what audience this show had in mind. But if you like animals and people willing to bend and break rules for the sake of freedom (this point is, however, debatable in my mind), go ahead and check this show out on Crunchyroll. All 50 episodes of it.

Natsume no Youjin-shi, the newest season of Natsume’s Book of Friends, is also on my line up. It follows the same story as the previous seasons, though blood seems to make more appearances this time around, so be warned. A very nice touch though is just how much trust is growing between Natsume and his friends. While his foster parents still don’t know about his ability, the number of people Natsume is coming to depend on rises. Though this often just makes him fear far more because now he has more to lose. And, yes, it’s still on Crunchyroll.

On a faaaar less serious note, there’s Kamisama Kiss. Which is a funny translation of the original title, Kamisama Hajimemashita, which literally means “god started.” Presumably this is trying to say something to the extent that “I started being a god,” which matches the show. Nanami has no home since her father ran off leaving massive debt behind. Luckily for her, a god also on the run spots her and gives her the ability to be a land god in his place, thereby giving her a place to live. But she has to put up with the youkai and other creatures in this new world, including her reluctant new familiar, Tomoe. Before you even ask, yes, this is a shoujo show. Which I noticed is in short supply on my blog. So this will have to do. And, in its defense, it can be pretty funny. Especially considering that Nanami isn’t in love with anyone. This show is currently being simul-cast by FUNimation. New episodes show up every Wednesday at 1pm EST.

A pretty good line up, though rather odd. But then, we’ll see how far I can keep up with these shows seeing as I’ve also endeavored to take on the 100 words a day for 100 days writing challenge (there’s no making up for loss days in this one. Missing a day means starting over) on top of college work. Well, at least I can break up the monotony every now and again with some heartfelt wonder or some gooey cheese. That makes it better. ….right?

This entry was posted in Extras, Streaming Shows and tagged , , , , , , by inrosegalaxy. Bookmark the permalink.

About inrosegalaxy

Raised on everything from Moby Dick to the Star Wars X-Wing books from a young age, it came as no surprise to anyone who knew me that I’d become a literature graduate and avid writer. But my love of a good story wasn’t restricted to the written word in my early years. Star Trek, Mystery Science Theater 3000, and badly dubbed Godzilla flicks helped shape my love of science fiction on screen as well. I wrote my first story while in the second grade. It was a horrifying tale about murdering a fairy-eating dog via a slice of pizza (in my defense, my only exposure to pizza was in the cafeteria and I swear you could legitimately kill someone with those things). I was a special snowflake. Today I write science fiction, fairy tales, Gothic epistolaries, fantasy and anything else that pops into my bizarre and twisted mind. I write new articles for my blog every Tuesday and Thursday. And if you happen to fancy Japanese animation, I also run an anime review blog, RRAR, which updates every Monday.

Leave a Reply

