Extra: Nice… uh… school?

academyHuge gardens. Multiple libraries. Active and organized clubs. Fancy, clean cafeterias with food you can eat without fear of catching some unknown virus. If you think I’m describing a high-in college, think again. I’m describing many high schools seen in anime.

Perhaps it’s simply because the background staff feels left out when they have to draw “ordinary” settings, but most shows, especially today, show off schools that are anywhere from impractical to simply impossible. And it could also just be the idealized vision. Creating worlds we would have rather have had back when we were still in school. Many of the homes in anime are the same way. Huge, spacious and completely impossible for any normal Japanese family to own. But when it comes to the schools, it may be more than just wishful thinking.

Over the last few decades, Japan has seen lower and lower birthrates. Kids are expensive to take care of and with the cost of basic living on the rise, the amount of children many Japanese families are willing to have has decreased significantly. Today, an average Japanese family has only one child. Considering that’s only one child to two parents that will one day die, it certainly doesn’t look good for Japan’s future. And schools are feeling the effects before anyone else. With an decrease in children, schools find they must compete with each other for students. After all, a school can only run if they have students to teach. And the competition in recent years has only become more frantic. While the elaborate setup of Ouran Academy is a bit over-the-top, a few other seemingly extreme school set ups are not. While it seems crazy for a school to have archery ranges and such, it isn’t really a stretch for schools to have that in Japan. And considering that extra curricular activities are sometimes a requirement for some schools, clubs in Japan are often far more organized and lively than the clubs here in the US.

So maybe some of those extreme schools aren’t so extreme after all. Except Ouran. But then again, Tamaki’s father is in charge so that’s not too surprising really.

This entry was posted in Extras and tagged , , , , , , by inrosegalaxy. Bookmark the permalink.

About inrosegalaxy

Raised on everything from Moby Dick to the Star Wars X-Wing books from a young age, it came as no surprise to anyone who knew me that I’d become a literature graduate and avid writer. But my love of a good story wasn’t restricted to the written word in my early years. Star Trek, Mystery Science Theater 3000, and badly dubbed Godzilla flicks helped shape my love of science fiction on screen as well. I wrote my first story while in the second grade. It was a horrifying tale about murdering a fairy-eating dog via a slice of pizza (in my defense, my only exposure to pizza was in the cafeteria and I swear you could legitimately kill someone with those things). I was a special snowflake. Today I write science fiction, fairy tales, Gothic epistolaries, fantasy and anything else that pops into my bizarre and twisted mind. I write new articles for my blog every Tuesday and Thursday. And if you happen to fancy Japanese animation, I also run an anime review blog, RRAR, which updates every Monday.

One thought on “Extra: Nice… uh… school?

  1. How sad…from the people that I love so much. What is worse, is they think in their vanity the problem is economically induced (from what news I’ve gathered). As they look at children as commodities rather than as Gifts from God….typical Modern Philosophy really.

    I am quite distressed for such a noble people, lost in their sins and ultimately in their foolishness….that I am unable to properly respond (although I think your take is correct) in quite the matter this posting deserves.

    Another excellent observation there!

Leave a Reply

