Extra: Where the heck am I?

roadsThis hasn’t really come up recently in anime for me, but you do occasionally run into it, although you might not recognize it.

In Japan, roads do not have names.

Think about it. No road names. None. When someone asks for directions, when you look up where something is: NO NAMES.

I bring this little fact up for the simple reason that here in the United States we have road names. This is extremely useful for finding one’s way. Assuming, of course, the roads have unique names. Unfortunately, where I live, some roads are named after nearby towns. Even though they do not lead to those towns. Imagine needing to go to a town called Butterscotch (no laughing) and were traveling through a town called Lakeside. And the road you end up on, while in Lakeside, was called Butterscotch. Welcome to my life. We have the ability to name roads and still manage to confuse ourselves. Which leads me to the logical conspiracy theory that somehow the Japanese knew that would happen and just gave up from the get-go.

In any case, next time you’re watching a show and that main character who just got transferred to a school asks for directions, pay attention! Lots of landmarks will be given, but I guarantee you won’t hear any names.
And if you’re heading to Japan any time soon: That cafe at the corner will be of far more importance to your life and it’s not because they sell coffee… Just sayin’.

This entry was posted in Extras and tagged , , , by inrosegalaxy. Bookmark the permalink.

About inrosegalaxy

Raised on everything from Moby Dick to the Star Wars X-Wing books from a young age, it came as no surprise to anyone who knew me that I’d become a literature graduate and avid writer. But my love of a good story wasn’t restricted to the written word in my early years. Star Trek, Mystery Science Theater 3000, and badly dubbed Godzilla flicks helped shape my love of science fiction on screen as well. I wrote my first story while in the second grade. It was a horrifying tale about murdering a fairy-eating dog via a slice of pizza (in my defense, my only exposure to pizza was in the cafeteria and I swear you could legitimately kill someone with those things). I was a special snowflake. Today I write science fiction, fairy tales, Gothic epistolaries, fantasy and anything else that pops into my bizarre and twisted mind. I write new articles for my blog every Tuesday and Thursday. And if you happen to fancy Japanese animation, I also run an anime review blog, RRAR, which updates every Monday.

Leave a Reply

