Extra: Gender isn’t the issue here

arata extraEvery time I hear this excuse I want to pound my head into a wall. Especially when my fellow females do it, but men are hardly exempt. In fact, they’re more prone to this paper thin excuse than women are.

“I am a girl/guy, after all.”

As if that excuses odd behavior, usually unwanted sexual advances. Now, I’ve heard this excuse mumbled hurriedly before, both parties silently acknowledging that it’s about as valid as claiming McDonald’s forced you to eat burgers everyday. But I’ve caught it used as if it’s a legitimate reason more than once in anime as of late. And that kind of trend bothers me. It’s one thing to joke about social expectations of gender roles. It’s a whole other deal to act as if some of those twisted and sexist notions are universal, let alone ethical. The idea that guys have a free pass to ogle and harass women simply because they’re men and “can’t help it,” is one of the reasons why women’s rights are still actively discussed. Far more taboo is the opposite side: women who hide their manipulative and overly emotional rampages behind the mask of “I’m a woman.” Not only does this behavior push back women’s rights, it also lowers the bar for humanity. Think about it. If a dog can get over his basic instinct to poop where ever he pleases while in a house through very basic training, that makes the so-called intelligent, rational, and conscience driven human race look pretty bad in comparison. No matter how basic an instinct is, it can be trained. And most of society depends on people being able to interact with one another using various social rules, very few of them coming anywhere near “natural.” Nearly all of them need to be learned.

Which is why I find these examples of poor scriptwriting potentially dangerous. They continue spreading the thought seed that we are unable to control basic desires and thus giving into them is to be expected and excused. Boy, if this was a legitimate argument, I would have slept through deadlines in college and simply claimed my instinct to sleep was the unavoidable culprit. But that would have not have flown and these pathetic excuses for inappropriate behavior due to gender shouldn’t either. I can only hope that the eye-rolling response to these kinds of things in media is the majority. But considering how many questionable story lines are popping up in this fall’s streaming line up… Well, we’ll see.

This entry was posted in Extras and tagged , , by inrosegalaxy. Bookmark the permalink.

About inrosegalaxy

Raised on everything from Moby Dick to the Star Wars X-Wing books from a young age, it came as no surprise to anyone who knew me that I’d become a literature graduate and avid writer. But my love of a good story wasn’t restricted to the written word in my early years. Star Trek, Mystery Science Theater 3000, and badly dubbed Godzilla flicks helped shape my love of science fiction on screen as well. I wrote my first story while in the second grade. It was a horrifying tale about murdering a fairy-eating dog via a slice of pizza (in my defense, my only exposure to pizza was in the cafeteria and I swear you could legitimately kill someone with those things). I was a special snowflake. Today I write science fiction, fairy tales, Gothic epistolaries, fantasy and anything else that pops into my bizarre and twisted mind. I write new articles for my blog every Tuesday and Thursday. And if you happen to fancy Japanese animation, I also run an anime review blog, RRAR, which updates every Monday.

7 thoughts on “Extra: Gender isn’t the issue here

  1. Ah, welcome to the lovely world of Relativism. If you want to continue the train into Relativism, try delving in the political system, or in public school thought as a general rule.

    What was once a lifestyle choice is now how someone’s “born”, even if it must cross moral boundaries.
    Even recently I heard a stupid commercial for a seminar about how constantly losing money on the stock market, by buying high and ending up selling low, is because “its not your fault. Your brain tricked you.”

    So your right for confessing your distress over this, because its a real philosophical thought to avoid responsibility (and ultimately God).

    Well said.

Leave a Reply

