Warning Zone: Diabolik Lovers

The why:
When a show is tagged “otome” I know I’m not going to get anything deep. In fact, I’ll be lucky if the main character isn’t stupid enough to tempt me into purging the planet of my gender. That said, a very sick trend has taken root in the recent otome shows that have sprung up. And it’s why this show gets a solid WZ on top of being dropped after episode five.

Rape. That’s right. You heard me. Now, I realize the story sets a young girl in a house of vampire hotties and a recipe for a healthy relationship just isn’t in the cards… Even so. Every episode contains the heroine getting pushed down, smacked or even cut to the joy of her male captors. They then proceed to drink her blood, forcefully kiss her or mark up her skin. All without her consent. That, dear readers, is rape. Or, if you wish to be overly technical, molestation. And I refuse to condone such a thing. Of course, the random bad language doesn’t help (one of the male characters calls the heroine b-chan. Whoever thought that was attractive needs to get another job).

Personal thoughts:
Just to clarify, I have only seen around five episodes of this show. However, the amount of abuse was so high, I just couldn’t take it anymore. The most the character ever does is say “No” and very feebly push back. She does not try escaping or legitimately fighting, so the chances of her defeating her clear enemies are null. In fact, the tone of the show seems to make it clear that they intend on continuing this horrid trend just as it has been. Every vampire and his brother will abuse her, with a small side plot about her father thrown in now and again for good measure.
The art is decent, but does not at all justify the horrid story and characters. The fact that this show even exists makes me feel a bit sick. Currently it’s streaming and thus has not been officially rated. However, it could easily be given the TV14 mark as the violence and nudity content is nothing worse than other shows in that category. Strictly speaking, anyway. But the context of what is there is far from acceptable and thus right in the WZ it goes. If you like hot vampire dudes, I suggest shows with actual thought behind them, like Trinity Blood. At the very least they don’t treat women like voiceless blood banks ripe for abuse.

This entry was posted in Warning Zone and tagged , , , , , by inrosegalaxy. Bookmark the permalink.

About inrosegalaxy

Raised on everything from Moby Dick to the Star Wars X-Wing books from a young age, it came as no surprise to anyone who knew me that I’d become a literature graduate and avid writer. But my love of a good story wasn’t restricted to the written word in my early years. Star Trek, Mystery Science Theater 3000, and badly dubbed Godzilla flicks helped shape my love of science fiction on screen as well. I wrote my first story while in the second grade. It was a horrifying tale about murdering a fairy-eating dog via a slice of pizza (in my defense, my only exposure to pizza was in the cafeteria and I swear you could legitimately kill someone with those things). I was a special snowflake. Today I write science fiction, fairy tales, Gothic epistolaries, fantasy and anything else that pops into my bizarre and twisted mind. I write new articles for my blog every Tuesday and Thursday. And if you happen to fancy Japanese animation, I also run an anime review blog, RRAR, which updates every Monday.

7 thoughts on “Warning Zone: Diabolik Lovers

  1. I”m glad I’m not the only one that feels this way. Its content is horrible and I’m not sure why it even exists. This trend of the Heroine being a rapist magnet is not good in my opinion. And I have such a hard time sympathizing with the girl when it really looks like she has no spine. But even so those guys are horrible. I could barely make it past the second episode.

    • Getting to episode five was very difficult for me. And then I just couldn’t bring myself to go further. Thankfully, the series’ intentions were pretty clear by then so I just dropped it.
      It really worries me that this is marketed to girls and that there are more than a few that actually like it. I mean, really? It’s like Twilight all over again, but a million times worse.

      • I have to wonder why there is such an aversion to nice male characters for girls to be with? I personally like nice boys aka Makoto from Free! is my man! But seriously, why is there this idealism for abuse? Is it the challenge of changing him for good or something?

      • I wish I had the answer to that. But I’ll bet it’s rather complicated. One part may be the challenge. Another may be in expectations (how frequently do we hear the phrases “nice guys finish last” growing up?). Bad boys are also a show of rebellion, so if we feel confined in our lives we might subconsciously think a bad guy might alter our circumstance (and he probably will. For the worse).
        There probably isn’t any single answer. But regardless, this is a topic that should be brought up more if we want people to get a clue and drop such dangerous habits.

      • I agree! I know the All girls want bad boys trope has been around forever but It just seems to be getting worse in my opinion. I think more people should discuss it and see if they could possibly give more examples of good guys that aren’t forced to be boring so the bad boy can get all the attention. That’s what I tend to see in most fiction.

  2. Pingback: Extra: Ball’s in your court, dude | Risembool Ranger Anime Reviews

  3. Pingback: The Sunshine and Blogger Recognition Awards 2016 | Risembool Ranger Anime Reviews

Leave a Reply

