Extra: Concerning rape

Considering the recent WZ I had to pen on Diabolik Lovers, I think it’s fitting to bring up a very important topic that more than a few people tend to avoid. Rape.

Of course, first things first. Let’s define rape so we’re very clear on what it is. Rape is sex OR sexual acts (which may or may not take one’s virginity) without consent. Also, a drugged or alcohol weakened mind does not count. Consent must be given in a clear mind set. After all, if someone is drugged and claims they are an alien sub-species from the planet Nebluair, would you believe them? Of course not! Thus any answers to questions given while under the influence of any substance cannot be taken as legitimate consent.

Alright, now onto the reason this is an issue. The recent WZ mentioned above is not the only show guilty of this, although it is certainly the most extreme case as of late. I’ve already touched on this abusive trend slightly concerning Amnesia’s “cage” episode. And this popped up again in this summer’s Brothers Conflict stream where the heroine is repeated kissed and flung around by her “brothers” without any permission or thought to her feelings whatsoever. Now the kissing-without-permission is sadly a common element not only in shoujo shows, but also in media at large. The ol’ hero-kisses-the-girl bit is used and reused to death with very few viewers questioning the trend. It’s become far too deeply entrenched into our culture. So much so, that it takes excessive use of this (such as in the above shows) to jolt us out of this sick delusion and get us thinking, “what a minute. Did she give the ok on that lip bomb?” Chances are, she didn’t. Because, yes, while always asking before you kiss your girlfriend would dampen things considerably, kissing a girl right after meeting her when you have not been dating or given any impression of them being anything other than an acquaintance is not at all acceptable behavior.

And then you have shows like Diabolik Lovers, which are so clearly straight up abuse cases, it makes me ill thinking about how it ever managed to clear basic planning sessions. Now I realize that BDSM exists and some claim it as healthy when done correctly. I won’t go into my personal thoughts on that, but I will say this. That “correct” manner mentioned up there includes consent. Which these heroines are NOT giving. Thus BDSM cannot even begin to excuse these shows. It is abuse at best. Outright rape at worst. Either way, it’s not something I want to see continue strong in shows from here on out. But that means we women need to put our foot down and give a resounding “hell no” to supporting this kind of “entertainment.” Companies are more liable to listen when money is on the line. And a huge drop in their target audience just might be enough to make them think twice about how women want to be, and should be, treated.

This entry was posted in Extras and tagged , , , , , , , by inrosegalaxy. Bookmark the permalink.

About inrosegalaxy

Raised on everything from Moby Dick to the Star Wars X-Wing books from a young age, it came as no surprise to anyone who knew me that I’d become a literature graduate and avid writer. But my love of a good story wasn’t restricted to the written word in my early years. Star Trek, Mystery Science Theater 3000, and badly dubbed Godzilla flicks helped shape my love of science fiction on screen as well. I wrote my first story while in the second grade. It was a horrifying tale about murdering a fairy-eating dog via a slice of pizza (in my defense, my only exposure to pizza was in the cafeteria and I swear you could legitimately kill someone with those things). I was a special snowflake. Today I write science fiction, fairy tales, Gothic epistolaries, fantasy and anything else that pops into my bizarre and twisted mind. I write new articles for my blog every Tuesday and Thursday. And if you happen to fancy Japanese animation, I also run an anime review blog, RRAR, which updates every Monday.

3 thoughts on “Extra: Concerning rape

  1. Pingback: Extra: The Liebster Awards | Risembool Ranger Anime Reviews

  2. Pingback: Extra: Ball’s in your court, dude | Risembool Ranger Anime Reviews

  3. Pingback: Glasslip Review | Risembool Ranger Anime Reviews

Leave a Reply

