Extra: I just can’t

I really do try to complete series, even if I’m not especially fond of them. Why? Well, chances are the show hasn’t been properly reviewed elsewhere and I feel it needs to be. So I’m fine with taking a bullet or two for the team.
But every now and again there comes a show that I just… I just can’t. I can’t get through it. It’s too painful. And so, here’s a list of just a few of the shows I’ve dropped thus far and why.

Ultra Maniac
Magical girl shows aren’t known for having unique properties. In many ways they’re worse than your typical shoujo. But this one really takes the cake. Not only is the art and music below sub-par, but the story is like a five year old’s pink power ranger fanfic with all the “good parts” taken out. I only survived about two episodes before I left to watch my cat napping in the living room. My cat has this show beat.

Free! Iwatobi Swim Club
Another drop during the second… actually, I only managed one episode this time. At the time, this show was brand new and only had around three episodes up. Aaand wasn’t really tagged correctly yet. Yep, weird vibes in episode one made we weary and since I’d had to discard some other show earlier that same day, I was tired enough to just drop this one right then and there. Sometimes I just have better things to do than see how far a rabbit hole goes. That and super muscle time really isn’t my thing. I always picture Armstrong for some reason…

Hakkenden: Eight Dogs of the East
Noticed I have a review for this one, did ya? True, but only for season one. And I only made it that far due to the fact that I was watching this with someone else. Otherwise this thing would have been dropped on… well, probably on episode two or three. You can read my Personal Impression for more of a rant but, long story short, this show has no drive at all. Making watching it a real drag and a half. Such a shame….

Attack on Titan
Don’t kill me yet. Hear me out. There was a lot of hype about this show even before it officially began to air. A lot. So, naturally, I checked out episode one. Unfortunately, it didn’t hook me. Now, why didn’t it hook me? I’m actually not sure. I’d probably need to try out at least one more episode to piece together that puzzle and, frankly speaking, there are other shows I could be watching. Because let me tell you right here and now, considering how violent this show is, I have little doubt it’ll end up with a strong WZ if, and I mean if, it gets a TV14 rating. But I don’t think it will. I think it will get a proper M rating. And if so, there’s no reason for a WZ. In which case, it will not appear on this site in any form. And if I could be spending my time on a show that can be talked about here, why force myself to watch a show like this?
Again, I make no point about the show in and of itself. I’ve seen too little of it for that. But I will say this, most of the hype about this show has come from crowds that can appreciate the smooth animation and backgrounds and music and whatnot. It’s a very particular “fanservice” and since I’m a writer and can only comment on the more general and basic points of animation itself (I’m a bit better at picking up the BGMs), I can’t really appreciate the same thing about the show that so many who rave about it do.
So, for now, this show is a drop.

What about you? Have you ever dropped a show?

This entry was posted in Extras and tagged , , , , , , , , by inrosegalaxy. Bookmark the permalink.

About inrosegalaxy

Raised on everything from Moby Dick to the Star Wars X-Wing books from a young age, it came as no surprise to anyone who knew me that I’d become a literature graduate and avid writer. But my love of a good story wasn’t restricted to the written word in my early years. Star Trek, Mystery Science Theater 3000, and badly dubbed Godzilla flicks helped shape my love of science fiction on screen as well. I wrote my first story while in the second grade. It was a horrifying tale about murdering a fairy-eating dog via a slice of pizza (in my defense, my only exposure to pizza was in the cafeteria and I swear you could legitimately kill someone with those things). I was a special snowflake. Today I write science fiction, fairy tales, Gothic epistolaries, fantasy and anything else that pops into my bizarre and twisted mind. I write new articles for my blog every Tuesday and Thursday. And if you happen to fancy Japanese animation, I also run an anime review blog, RRAR, which updates every Monday.

7 thoughts on “Extra: I just can’t

  1. xD Totally there with you there. Although on Attack on Titan I have heard a number of respectable people who have a high regard to the mature nature of the show. From what was described to me, it sounds like a very serious show which has no qualms about presenting life in its ugly forms as much as its best.

    Fanservice? Heard opposite on that too.

    So tell you what, I shall endeavor after the end of this year (way behind in reviews that need my focus and a few shows I need to finish, like Coyote Ragtime Show), to review it myself!!
    That way, you can focus on what you like. After all, what interests you most is more likely to be your best material. :D

    • I was referring to the artwork itself and the music being a type of “fanservice.” Most of the people I’ve spoken to that praise the series so highly have been people who enjoy the very technical and precise side of art. So it’s a “specific kind of fanservice.” xD

      • You know, I digress that part of the comment. Part of me gets stuck on the typical view of “fan-service” that fails to differentiate between fan-service’s real meaning and ecchi, which has little value in life…because most people use them interchangeably in a wrong context.

        (I actually wrote an extensive essay about the difference myself)

        I’ve known your stuff is rather mature in character, so I should’ve read your proper use of fan-service in the context you wrote it in. My bad. xD

      • No worries, I totally understand. A shocking amount of people get those terms mixed up and it is very often indeed used in place of purely sexual content when referring to anime.
        I usually use it to refer to anything seemingly forced into a show to appease fans. Be it art, moe, nudity or pretty much anything else excessive and largely unnecessary.
        Which happens pretty frequently in shows these days. Not that Hollywood is any better (actually, they’re worse).

Leave a Reply

