News: Death of the “website” info

Back in the day, companies made a big deal of a show, many creating individual websites for them (some using fancy flash and everything). But I’ve noticed over the last year just how few shows have individual sites anymore. In fact, usually FUNimation is the only company left with specific pages for their shows.
Considering how many sites report on shows these days, with Anime News Network being the largest, companies have gradually realized how much pointless work goes into these individual pages. And thus, as nice as many of them were, series’ sites have met their end.

And so has that bit of info in my reviews. But I just couldn’t make that spot bare, so we have a new, likely more useful, addition. Company. This will tell you who has the current rights to the anime in America. If you live elsewhere in the world, my apologies. However, due to quite a few licenses being streaming only now, more often than not you might find that the company owning the show might work in your country as well. It’s still not as universal as I’d like, but we’re making some progress in the right direction.

In any case, I hope this info helps, although I will warn that if a review was posted years ago, you best double check. Anime companies are not immortal over here. The licensing just might have changed.

This entry was posted in News and tagged , , , by inrosegalaxy. Bookmark the permalink.

About inrosegalaxy

Raised on everything from Moby Dick to the Star Wars X-Wing books from a young age, it came as no surprise to anyone who knew me that I’d become a literature graduate and avid writer. But my love of a good story wasn’t restricted to the written word in my early years. Star Trek, Mystery Science Theater 3000, and badly dubbed Godzilla flicks helped shape my love of science fiction on screen as well. I wrote my first story while in the second grade. It was a horrifying tale about murdering a fairy-eating dog via a slice of pizza (in my defense, my only exposure to pizza was in the cafeteria and I swear you could legitimately kill someone with those things). I was a special snowflake. Today I write science fiction, fairy tales, Gothic epistolaries, fantasy and anything else that pops into my bizarre and twisted mind. I write new articles for my blog every Tuesday and Thursday. And if you happen to fancy Japanese animation, I also run an anime review blog, RRAR, which updates every Monday.

3 thoughts on “News: Death of the “website” info

  1. In think at least part of the decline in individual websites is that now database sites like mal/anidb/ann encyclopedia give people better access to the info they typically monitor when deciding whether to follow a show or not, like the cast/staff and an aggregate popular opinion snapshot of the show.

    • Pretty much. That’s why I mentioned Anime News Network, which is currently the largest anime database out there. It has its issues (their “rating” system makes no sense and is more often that not incorrect), but it’s kept up to date and, better yet for companies on a budget, run by fans.

  2. Pingback: Beyond the Boundary Review | Risembool Ranger Anime Reviews

Leave a Reply

