Extra: The Liebster Awards

Considering that I’ve never really advertised for this blog, I’m not only pleased, but very grateful to have so many following the posts here. Not to mention all the wonderful people who like and comment, discussing issues further, telling me their own thoughts on these shows and expressing their excitement for possible future seasons of the proud few shows that break the cycle of predictability and climb into our hearts. As this is the last Extra post before New Years, I wanted to be sure I thanked each and every one of you who continue to encourage me in this endeavor and remind me that, yes, there are intelligent and wonderful anime fans out there and thus I need not give up on humanity just yet.

But now you’re probably wondering about the title of this post. Well, considering my site’s small size and voice, I was extremely surprised to find that this blog has been nominated for the Liebster Awards, an award with the purpose of informing the blogging community of little known, but well crafted, blogs with less than 200 followers. So here’s a big shout out to John Samuel, Captain of The Pirates of the Burley Griffin blog for nominating this blog. Thanks, Capt!
The main rules are simple enough:
1. Link back to the blogger who nominated you
2. Answer the 11 questions given to you by the blogger who nominated you
3. Nominate 11 other bloggers with less than 200 followers
4. Go to the blogs you nominated and notify them of your nomination
5. Give your nominees 11 questions to answer.

So here be my answers to the nerdy questions of the week!

  1. What is the best installment of an anime/manga franchise you don’t like?
    I might get flamed for this, but Gundam Wing. I adore the show. The political side was extremely well written and the characters were fun to watch and interesting. Although I’ve attempted to get into the other, more “solid” by fan standards, Gundam series, they’ve either been too slow, too desperate to please all the people and thus have no clear aim (Seed, pretty much) or have unlikeable/whinny characters. If you’re gonna give someone a rare and powerful mobile suit, they need to be competent and well trained. Otherwise I’m checking out episode one.
  2. all girlsWhat is the worst installment of an anime/manga franchise you do like?
    Last Exile: Fam. The Silver Wing. By far the worst sequel I’ve ever seen. Aside from it’s extremely small and confusing connections to its predecessor, Fam. The Silver Wing ended up with a case of anime amnesia, forgetting why fans loved the first series and rewriting everything to revolve around a entirely female cast in the hopes that moe alone would save them. It didn’t. The poor writing, painful forced “sympathy” for the villain (who was totally a mass murderder without regret until the end) and shallow characters worked to make this a massive let down for long time Last Exile fans. In the end, the steampunk visuals were all that this show had. And even then it didn’t live up to the series’ long held reputation.
  3. Give your favorite genre a reality check.
    I’m not sure if this is what you mean, but I’ve often commented on the shoujo genre’s various elements, mainly the ones that give me a cramp from rolling my eyes too often. Most central to this idea is my post on “bad boy” love interests. I also commented on some of the more recent, and dangerous, plot devices being used (cages and rape are not cool, people). These are things that would make any real woman call the cops. Immediately.
  4. Princess TutuName one (and only one) change you’d like to make to one anime.
    You’re killing me. Alright, I’d love to know more about Ahiru/Duck’s past in the series Princess Tutu. As the series currently stands, it is told she has always been a duck. However, it is also hinted that she might have come from “outside the story.” Also, she has no parents or memories of her past before becoming a girl. She’s also the only duck in the entire town. Even the pond she seems to live at contains no other wildlife. There are theories that Drosselmeyer wrote her in from one of his other works, meaning she is magic in and of herself. But nothing is ever confirmed and we’re just left without any knowledge of exactly who this girl – er, duck – really is.
  5. Name the most annoying anime character ever.
    Tough call there. Now I hate to pick on a show I reviewed so recently, but I honestly can’t come up with anyone worse at the moment. So it’s gonna have the the main male lead, Nai, from Karnival. Honestly, he has more whine than all of France (see what I did there?). Few things make me curl into a fetal position more than excessive whining punctuated with constant “um”s and “er”s.
  6. .hack//RootsName the anime character you’d most like to slap.
    I’d think that’s usually attached to the last question. But perhaps the above character could benefit more from a beating… Or simply being dissolved into thin air. Anyway, aside from every wishy-washy female lead in shoujo anime that just sits there while people harass her, I’d probably give a solid slap to Haseo from .hack//Roots. Dude, get a spine or just stop playing an MMORPG with PK capabilities. Honestly. If you don’t like it, don’t log in.
  7. Name the animation studio you’d most like to slap.
    Bandai. They came to America, treated our market as if it was identical to Japan’s, ignored social media outreach, gave up on America when sales dropped (mainly due to piracy, although the previous points were serious factors as well) and dropped hundreds of classic and timeless titles, not even allowing half of them to legally stream. Brilliant job, Bandai. I love it when companies give internet pirates ammunition. And by “love it” I mean hate it. A lot.
  8. relenaName your favorite anime hero or heroine.
    I don’t like “or.” So how abouts I make this an “and” question and include a dude and a lady? Edward Elric and Relena Darlian. And for one massive reason, too. They both were committed to doing what they felt was right, even if that cost them their lives. They looked at life honestly, no matter how ugly the picture. True heroism.
  9. Name the best anime villain.
    I think that depends on your definition of “best.” For laughability, I have a special place in my heart for Prozen from Zoids. If you mean “good” as in interesting, well Izaya from Durarara is pretty hard to predict. I enjoyed watching him weave in and out of the story. It’s too bad most villains these days aren’t written out as complexly. Villains have goals too. And they aren’t always black and white. Heck, the “enemy” in Princess Tutu wasn’t at all what anyone even expected, to say nothing of “it’s” goals.
  10. What is the most epic scene in anime?
    I was on the edge of my seat for the entire fight between Roy Mustang and Lust in the new Fullmetal Alchemist Brotherhood series. Very well done tension and energy.
  11. What is the anime with the best background music?
    I’m torn between Trinity Blood and Black Cat. Both have unique soundtracks blending piano, chorus and electronic sounds that, unfortunately, never made their way to the US and are little known.

Now onto my own nominations!

  1. Otaku Lounge run by the wonderful Artemis, who has been a wonderful commenter on my own blog. She runs the above blog which has a wonderful track record of giving a critical eye towards not only shows as a whole, but on gender roles and sexuality in anime. She also loves reading books, it seems. A blogger after my own heart. (Side note: I thought I was subscribed, but I wasn’t? Time to fix that!)
  2. Gagging on Sexism is a blog I ran across thanks to John’s awesome linkage. I only had to read her thoughts on the fanservice in Kill-la-Kill to know she was my kind of feminist. Proud to have you in our ranks, Erin. Very proud.
  3. Lost My Thesis is a very sporadic anime blog that includes anything from thoughts on posts, to quotes and character/story review. It’s not all that regular, but I enjoy how varied the posts can be. And also how positive they tend to be.
  4. Glorio is a blog I keep running into as they tend to post on various areas concerning Japan. Anime, manga and music tend to be the top. But what sticks out to me is the music. They have a Jukebox section that goes over Japanese music that is often underground, little known or flat out overlooked.
  5. Josh’s Anime Blog is probably one of the more organized and straight forward by-episode blogs I’ve seen for anime. He goes on hiatus often, unfortunately, but I continue to have him in my blogroll as he goes over quite a few series I have not.
  6. Canne’s Anime Reviews is a blog that, shockingly, reviews entire series (as I do!) instead of just by-episode (which is the norm). She tends to be more harsh towards overly simplistic stories, as I am, so I’ve had her in my blogroll for some time.
  7. Don’t Drink the Moon, Bloom Tea is a blog by a poetic writer. She posts thoughts, musing and an occasional book review and/or recommendation. Like myself, she swings on a pendulum between romantic and practical, never discounting one or the other as a part of herself.
  8. Just Reviewing Books is a small, but cute blog that just… well, reviews books. The books are random, some old, some new. But the graphics and set up are cute and straightforward. Plus this chick is a fellow NaNoWriMo member. Not that I’m bias (I totally am).
  9. If You Give a Girl a Novel is another book review blog. More in-depth with explaining the “why” behind her feelings towards the books she reviews, Maria takes on classics and modern works, giving her honest and well thought out opinions in an easy to read manner. She’s rather new to WordPress (just joined this year, I think), so be sure to give her a warm welcome ^^
  10. Zak Writes is another writer’s blog, but this one is very well organized with well thought out posts on writing as a craft.
  11. Scribbler’s Ink Blog is a prompt page. If you’re a writer, it can be a fun and safe place to flex the creative muscles. Especially when that dreaded writer’s block creeps up on you.

Here are my questions for you loverly people:
(as some of you have been nominated before, I tried to make these quick to answer)

  1. Why did you originally start up your blog?
  2. Were you a big reader of other blogs that wrote on similar topics to yours when you first started? Did they inspire you in any way?
  3. Blogging has changed a lot over the years, going from mainly text to text and photos, micro blog systems (Twitter and Tumblr, for example) and now even including video at times. Do you think you’ll be adding more elements to your blog in the future? If so, what additions are you considering?
  4. Do you listen to music while writing? If so, what are your current go-to picks?
  5. You’re being attacked by a giant muppet! What’s your escape plan?
  6. What’s your biggest blogging pet-peeve?
  7. How do you explain to those not entirely internet-savvy (or perhaps just unknowledgeable on your topic) what you write about?
  8. If you could suggest a new feature to be added to your blogging host’s system, what would it be?
  9. What’s your favorite drink and/or snack while writing?
  10. If you were asked to pick out one post you’ve already written on your blog as the best you’ve written thus far, which one would it be?
  11. If there was one thing you wish your followers would do more of, what would it be?
10 thoughts on “Extra: The Liebster Awards

  1. Great response, I nearly lost it at “You’re killing me” on the one change question (for the record, and showing my age here, my choice was to give the original Lodoss Wars OAVs an actual animation budget…).

  2. Thank you for nominating me! I think I’m going to skip the questions, just because I’ve gotten back from a few days holiday to a pile of RL work that needs attention, but I’m truly happy and grateful for the mention. :)

    • No prob! Besides, I think others nominated you, too so I figured you might be too busy ^^
      Just keep being awesome ;)

  3. At present, it has two principal headquarters – Switzerland
    and Luxemburg. You can start from the basics; basic words and phrases,
    basics needed to get around when traveling. When used regularly in the face, this product will help improve your skin’s
    elasticity, therefore minimizing the appearance of fine lines & wrinkles.

  4. hi! Thank you so much for the nomination and kind words! As you can see, I am a bit late to the party but I am going to try and get around to answering the questions. First though, I want to come up with 11 nominees which means spending more time on wordpress!
    Thank you so much!

    • No problem! When I was nominated it forced me to get more involved in the WordPress community, too. But it was worth it as I found some pretty cool blogs I might never have come across otherwise. lol. I think the nomination was more of a healthy push than just an award.

Leave a Reply

