Extra: Welcome to 2014!

I am going to confess that most of the time I don’t see shows coming. Really. When new streams are announced, I’m often the last one on board. Of course, due to the fact that I review entire shows, not just episodes, this set-up has never been much of an issue. Even so, I often find I’ve missed more than a few newer shows simply due to my lack of awareness. Back in the day I saw more shows coming thanks to NewType USA, but that ship has sailed. And sunk. But that’s what the internet is for, yes? Just nod and we’ll move on.

So here are a few shows out of a long list of new comers for 2014 that stuck out for me. They likely won’t be showing up for a bit, but it’s nice to look forward to something. Even if that something is more or less a mystery bag.

Noragami
A deity that has to work a delivery job to get offerings? Sounds like this kinda of story could go either towards some awesome comedy, just like The Devil is a Part-Timer, or have more serious and sad elements such as Natsume’s Book of Friends. It might even strike a balance, as did Beyond the Boundary. The animation looks pretty good, if the promo pic is any indication. Now if only the characters are as good and not boring or nails-on-a-chalkboard annoying…
Air date: 2014-01-05

Nobunaga the Fool
When I see new mecha shows, I have a strange feeling within me. Hope and dream crushing reality intermixed with a healthy side dose of probability. Let’s be honest. Most mecha shows are just pathetic these days. The heroes are either wimpy crybabies or overly endowed females whose only purpose in the story is to create a new fanservice ceiling.
That said, some elements of Gargantia were promising, such as the miscommunication between two very different cultures. Of course, the clash wavered here and there as the mecha’s AI system often ended up stuck in traditional Japanese thinking, which often didn’t match the situations it was built for (philosophical debates wouldn’t be important to a society struggling just to exist).
This show indicates that two very different worlds and cultures will clash. If they play it right, that could be quite a compelling set up. Unfortunately, the art style makes me weary. A large chested female and a jrock dude? Eh. We’ll just have to see.
Air date: 2014-01-05

Strange+
A kid trying to keep his older brother in line and joining up with the detective agency his bro runs to keep tabs on him? Hm. Depending on how it’s played, that might be fun to watch. So long as they focus on character relationships, growth and/OR comedy. Otherwise this show will end up stuck in the case-of-the-week category, which isn’t really the most compelling way to keep an audience. Also, the art makes me weary of fanservice overdose. Very weary. 
Air date: 2014-01-09

Houzuki no Reitetsu
More on Hell? Well, if comedy, particularly dark humor, is involved, this might be quite a fun show. But that’s only if they can sell the main character as dark enough for his position, but comical enough to be likable. Having a good balance will be a pain, and I fear this might be one of those case-of-the-week deals, but if they can manage a good lead it just might work.
Air date: 2014-01-09

Actually that’s really the deal with all the new shows arriving later this year: good characters. As shows like Chihayafuru have shown me, even if the premise isn’t my thing, if the characters are well written, I’m all over it. 

So here’s to hoping 2014 bring in some shows with good characters. Otherwise these shows from last fall will have to last us. Because I, for one, am getting sick of the same old basic build leads. Let’s have a few layers to our MCs, shall we?

This entry was posted in Extras and tagged , , , , , , , , by inrosegalaxy. Bookmark the permalink.

About inrosegalaxy

Raised on everything from Moby Dick to the Star Wars X-Wing books from a young age, it came as no surprise to anyone who knew me that I’d become a literature graduate and avid writer. But my love of a good story wasn’t restricted to the written word in my early years. Star Trek, Mystery Science Theater 3000, and badly dubbed Godzilla flicks helped shape my love of science fiction on screen as well. I wrote my first story while in the second grade. It was a horrifying tale about murdering a fairy-eating dog via a slice of pizza (in my defense, my only exposure to pizza was in the cafeteria and I swear you could legitimately kill someone with those things). I was a special snowflake. Today I write science fiction, fairy tales, Gothic epistolaries, fantasy and anything else that pops into my bizarre and twisted mind. I write new articles for my blog every Tuesday and Thursday. And if you happen to fancy Japanese animation, I also run an anime review blog, RRAR, which updates every Monday.

Leave a Reply

