Extra: Aren’t we the best ever?

Now I can’t stop thinking about it. About nationalism. About how often we toot out own horn for America. Because when Japan does it, it’s certainly not round about at all.

The first time I noticed an anime blatantly praising Japan was in La Croisee, which takes place in France. The heroine’s new “guardian,” of sorts, brags endlessly on the food from Japan. He even has the heroine make some for them, which the male lead logically doesn’t like. At first. He returns to find he really likes it later (which is funny to me as I’ve found with many foreign dishes: if I don’t like it round one, I won’t like it later as the taste difference is just too big). It wasn’t too bad of a back-pat, but it was still pretty obvious.

Then there’s Galileo Donna, where the main characters all come from Italy. It was almost painful how loud they blew Japan’s horn. Not only does this girl from Italy idolize Japan and want to go there out of all the places in the world, but she also imports Japanese candy to eat. Now later we find they’re actually part Japanese and have family there, which eased me quite a bit. Then the whole time plot comes in. So this kid’s great-great-great grandpa likes the same Japanese candy? Remind me again how they would even know much about Japan back then in that area or how one would even get Japanese candy in Italy in that era? Heck, I can barely get Japanese sweets where I live. Talk about a stretch!

How you guys noticed this stuff in any of the anime you’ve watched? The more ridiculous, the better!

This entry was posted in Extras and tagged , , , , , by inrosegalaxy. Bookmark the permalink.

About inrosegalaxy

Raised on everything from Moby Dick to the Star Wars X-Wing books from a young age, it came as no surprise to anyone who knew me that I’d become a literature graduate and avid writer. But my love of a good story wasn’t restricted to the written word in my early years. Star Trek, Mystery Science Theater 3000, and badly dubbed Godzilla flicks helped shape my love of science fiction on screen as well. I wrote my first story while in the second grade. It was a horrifying tale about murdering a fairy-eating dog via a slice of pizza (in my defense, my only exposure to pizza was in the cafeteria and I swear you could legitimately kill someone with those things). I was a special snowflake. Today I write science fiction, fairy tales, Gothic epistolaries, fantasy and anything else that pops into my bizarre and twisted mind. I write new articles for my blog every Tuesday and Thursday. And if you happen to fancy Japanese animation, I also run an anime review blog, RRAR, which updates every Monday.

2 thoughts on “Extra: Aren’t we the best ever?

  1. That was certainly one of the many things in Galileo Donna that made me cringe, and I noticed the same in La Croisee. There’s also Code Geass, which makes a pretty huge deal of how the Britannian Empire has suppressed Japanese culture – which obviously has to translate a lot of the time into Japanese people and culture = good , others = bad. There’s a bit of this in Read or Die too I think, especially where Yomiko and Nenene are concerned, since again it’s Japanese (or half-Japanese) are playing the good guys while the British are mostly the antagonists (although the latter is probably getting a bit off-topic as far as this post goes, since it doesn’t really have much to do with Japanese culture as such, and there’s very little Japan-tooting going on in comparison to the other examples).

    • I understand being proud of your nation and all, but there should at least be logical limits put on. Most Americans actually don’t take to most Japanese cuisine and you can’t get Japanese candy anywhere you go. Heck, most people these days can’t even find Japan on a map (I wish I was kidding).
      So while I get and allow for quite a bit of boasting, it’s the over-the-top stuff that kills me.
      Now I’m going to be super aware of it in our shows over here and it’s gonna drive me crazy. lol

Leave a Reply

