Extra: Ball’s in your court, dude

If you’re new to this site, or anime in general, you may be wondering why I bother with all the different sections in my reviews. In fact, you might even think it rude and judgmental. But aside from the fact that I have a right to review shows as I see fit, it’s not quite as rigid as it looks at first. My reviews are sectioned off as they are so you can chose for yourself if what the show offers is what you’re interested in. Even though my opinion taints how I phrase these sections, you can still get the just of what these shows contain. If fanservice irks you, you can be warned. If language makes you mad, you can avoid it. In other words, the ball’s in your court.

The reason I often slam on sexist stuff (in shoujo shows in particular) in my articles, isn’t because I’m judging people who like those things. What you like and watch is your decision. My biggest issue with many of these things is because they are mislabeled for the benefit of a marketing ploy or by fans to justify what they like. And that just doesn’t fly with me. Rape is sexual contact of any kind that is unwanted (non-consent). To push off those kinds of relationships (fictional as they may be) as healthy or normal when they are not is what gets me on my soap box faster than a jack rabbit on a date. Are there women that like watching other women getting raped? I shudder at the thought, but yes. There are. And that’s their business. The danger lies in pushing it off as something it isn’t. Diabolik Lovers contains outright rape. Period. And so does Say “I Love You,” though in a less blunt and obvious way. To claim that these shows display any kind of normal or healthy romance is just plain wrong. They may show some bits of “reality.” Those kinds of unhealthy relationships exist, after all. Rape is a real deal, as is thinking you love someone when really they’re just controlling and manipulating you emotionally. But don’t mislabel it. If you’re going to like something, be honest with what entertains you. If you like violence, be blunt and realize that you like watching gore. If you dig nudity, out with it and admit it. Don’t try to bury the fact under mislabels to justify what you’re into.

As Jelx of Glorio Blog wrote recently, we are affected by what we put in our minds. What we read, hear, talk about, learn, see, taste. We are affected by our surroundings. Numerous studies have shown that. The issue then is by how much. Since every human being weighs issues differently, learns differently, this kind of thing is impossible to measure. It’s also a personal choice once one is of age (which changes a bit depending on which country you live in). But the point of my reviews and articles isn’t to pass judgment on people who enjoy certain things, but to simply say, “Hey. This is what’s in this one.” With a bit of a snarking comment here and there for good measure. The rest is up to you. Only you can know how and what affects you and, hopefully, you know if it’s for good or ill. And at the end of the day, only you have the option of choosing what’s going into your brain. Just be honest with yourself and others when you decide. No good will ever come of passing down the delusion that rape, under any condition, is acceptable in a relationship. Because it really isn’t. Not by a long shot.

This entry was posted in Extras and tagged , , , , , by inrosegalaxy. Bookmark the permalink.

About inrosegalaxy

Raised on everything from Moby Dick to the Star Wars X-Wing books from a young age, it came as no surprise to anyone who knew me that I’d become a literature graduate and avid writer. But my love of a good story wasn’t restricted to the written word in my early years. Star Trek, Mystery Science Theater 3000, and badly dubbed Godzilla flicks helped shape my love of science fiction on screen as well. I wrote my first story while in the second grade. It was a horrifying tale about murdering a fairy-eating dog via a slice of pizza (in my defense, my only exposure to pizza was in the cafeteria and I swear you could legitimately kill someone with those things). I was a special snowflake. Today I write science fiction, fairy tales, Gothic epistolaries, fantasy and anything else that pops into my bizarre and twisted mind. I write new articles for my blog every Tuesday and Thursday. And if you happen to fancy Japanese animation, I also run an anime review blog, RRAR, which updates every Monday.

Leave a Reply

