Warning Zone: Say “I Love You”

The why:
I’ll be honest here. This show is really more on the fence than all out WZ. Shows like Fullmetal Alchemist have featured off screen sex scenes. We know they happened, but we don’t actually see anything so it passes. A similar thing happens in this show, but with a big difference. One character reveals she has had sex with a particular male character. Now. We don’t see it happen. Aside from a scene with her in just her underwear (think bikini level nudity), we don’t see anything actually happen. But what makes this so  different from FMA is the why. Simply put, she felt bad after being dumped and slept with a guy who pitied her. I actually have more issues with the guy than the chick. He bent to her tears and did something that probably made her feel worse afterwards than better and may have given her a complex about what love means. She was not emotionally stable at the time, so any overly intimate action by “just a friend” can be quite damaging.
You could also make the point of them being so young and unmarried, but I’m not touching that one. Whether you agree with sex before marriage or not, the reasoning behind what happened is pretty twisted. It’s also pushed off by the heroine as if it’s no big deal. Personally I find the judgment of someone you trust being very much a big deal. But maybe I’m just too old school for these shoujo shows anymore…
In any case, this was just enough of a difference for me to feel compelled to WZ this one. Though, if that doesn’t bother you, you won’t find much else too different from the usual YA stuff.

Personal thoughts:
I originally started this show because people were raving that it was just as good as Kimi no Todoke, a show I really fell in love with.
Disappointment doesn’t really cover this. Slight disgust is a bit closer. In addition to the above issue, I had some other tight lipped moments.  Comments like “being a girl on a day like this (as if you can’t be a girl whenever you flippin’ want or that being a girl requires particular attire or attitude)” and forced kisses are really push button for me. Unfortunately this show has both. The lead guy forces himself on the heroine numerous times and, more than once, she feels compelled to change who she is for his sake. Not a fan of that mentality. Bettering yourself is one thing. Forcing yourself to be someone you’re not? Not okay. And the fact that everyone claims the two are so “in love” just makes it all the worse.

Overall I feel insulted that this show was compared to Kimi no Todoke, as this show isn’t nearly as healthy in its relationships, which was a highlight for Kimi no Todoke. Be warned, this show is really nothing like it. But, again, if the above issues don’t bug you, perhaps this show will be a decent ride. But I don’t think it will be much more than that. The art and music are entirely forgettable, and the characters are pretty flat. The only one that isn’t seems to do a personality 180 simply for the convenience of the story (the heroine needs female friends, right? Past enemies are perfect for that!). Don’t look for anything really spectacular if you chose to press on with this one.

This entry was posted in Warning Zone and tagged , , by inrosegalaxy. Bookmark the permalink.

About inrosegalaxy

Raised on everything from Moby Dick to the Star Wars X-Wing books from a young age, it came as no surprise to anyone who knew me that I’d become a literature graduate and avid writer. But my love of a good story wasn’t restricted to the written word in my early years. Star Trek, Mystery Science Theater 3000, and badly dubbed Godzilla flicks helped shape my love of science fiction on screen as well. I wrote my first story while in the second grade. It was a horrifying tale about murdering a fairy-eating dog via a slice of pizza (in my defense, my only exposure to pizza was in the cafeteria and I swear you could legitimately kill someone with those things). I was a special snowflake. Today I write science fiction, fairy tales, Gothic epistolaries, fantasy and anything else that pops into my bizarre and twisted mind. I write new articles for my blog every Tuesday and Thursday. And if you happen to fancy Japanese animation, I also run an anime review blog, RRAR, which updates every Monday.

5 thoughts on “Warning Zone: Say “I Love You”

  1. Pingback: Extra: Ball’s in your court, dude | Risembool Ranger Anime Reviews

  2. Likewise, I have a real issue when anime (or any other media for that matter) has a female character who feels the need to change who she is for the sake of a romantic interest. Unfortunately, it happens so often in anime in particular that I didn’t feel especially surprised to see it in this title. I’ve apparently become so used to it now that my reaction here wasn’t disgust so much as it was, “oh, so it’s a normal romance show then.”

    • Which is why I harp on these themes so much. To connect unhealthy ANYTHING with the idea that it’s normal… It’s sad at best and dangerous at worst.
      But, yeah. I think I’m just becoming less tolerant of this kind of stupidity as I get older. Year by year I seem to get more critical, my fuse getting shorter. Makes me a bit terrified at where I’ll be next year with shoujo titles at the rate I’m going. xD

  3. Pingback: Wolf Girl and Black Prince Review | Risembool Ranger Anime Reviews

  4. Pingback: I’ve Always Liked You Review | Risembool Ranger Anime Reviews

Leave a Reply

