Warning Zone: Black Butler

The why:
This show should have a solid M rating, period. But the fact that FUNimation marks it as TV14/M is just… wow. Although it’d be easier to list how this series isn’t M worthy (or worse), here’s a quick run down on why this show is WZed.

Aside from the leading scenes that imply sex, there is one very obvious instance of sexual foreplay (with a nun, no less), a topless scene (yeah, boobs), the gutting of prostitutes and sexual relationship undertones with a minor. And that’s just season one. Season two is even worse with outright child rape, abuse, and nudity. This series shouldn’t have TV14 anywhere on it.

Personal thoughts:
The fact that a few friends and family of mine love this show compelled me to check it out. To say I’m horrified at how many underage fans (thirteen being the most common age) this series has would be a gross understatement. This series is worse than Ghost in the Shell: SAC season one and that’s saying a lot. It doesn’t help matters that the show is unrealistic in its Victorian setting (see poor Watson’s post over at Otaku Lounge for more on that) and has a large cast of rather predicable characters. The only interesting aspect would be the main character’s past, but it’s stretched out too far and ends up being pretty ridiculous after so much build up. The animation and music are all sub-par as well, leaving this series with very little in the unique department aside from being far too inappropriate for its rating.

Overall, I can’t see how one could fully enjoy this show without getting creepy crawlies under your skin (not the good kind, either). But to each their own, I suppose. Just remember, if you plan on watching it, be well warned. This is not a kids show. In ANY way.

 

This entry was posted in Warning Zone and tagged , , , , by inrosegalaxy. Bookmark the permalink.

About inrosegalaxy

Raised on everything from Moby Dick to the Star Wars X-Wing books from a young age, it came as no surprise to anyone who knew me that I’d become a literature graduate and avid writer. But my love of a good story wasn’t restricted to the written word in my early years. Star Trek, Mystery Science Theater 3000, and badly dubbed Godzilla flicks helped shape my love of science fiction on screen as well. I wrote my first story while in the second grade. It was a horrifying tale about murdering a fairy-eating dog via a slice of pizza (in my defense, my only exposure to pizza was in the cafeteria and I swear you could legitimately kill someone with those things). I was a special snowflake. Today I write science fiction, fairy tales, Gothic epistolaries, fantasy and anything else that pops into my bizarre and twisted mind. I write new articles for my blog every Tuesday and Thursday. And if you happen to fancy Japanese animation, I also run an anime review blog, RRAR, which updates every Monday.

One thought on “Warning Zone: Black Butler

  1. Pingback: Extra: 200 posts, ratings and pressing on | Risembool Ranger Anime Reviews

Leave a Reply

