Extra: 200 posts, ratings and pressing on

Around three years. That about how old this blog is, give or take a month or two for bata launching. And we’ve finally hit our 200th…. what?

Wait.

Soooo, this post isn’t the 200th post?

No, it isn’t. This post is the 201st post. The big 200 goes to that last WZ on Black Butler. Which, oddly enough, is rather perfect. Not because of the show, but because that post exemplifies why this blog was created to begin with. Our rating system in the US sucks. It’s sucked for years and, if you can believe it, it used to be even worse.

Back when I was just getting into anime, in the early 90s, there was no concrete rating system for anime. Technically speaking, there still isn’t. But now most companies have agreed to use the basic TV system (TV-G, TV-PG, TV14, M, etc). This wasn’t so back in my long abandoned era, when dinosaurs roamed the earth and ate children as they slept. At that time anime companies rated their shows however they wanted. Some chose the traditional movie rating system: G, PG, PG13, etc. Others used age indicators: All Ages, Teen, Young Adult (ps – what’s the difference between teen and young adult? Flip a coin, it’ll make more sense that way). While still other companies liked both systems so much they decided to create a Franken-rating system using both and whatever they thought looked good on the package. Acceptable for Most Ages? Oh, good. I was worried taking this into the Future Age might prove problematic. And let’s all just ignore Anime News Network‘s pathetic “objectionable content” slot. It’s just too sad to look at (again, coin flipping is more useful).

But even with the more “leveled out” playing field for ratings, anime still ends up in the odd rating basket often enough to make those ratings, especially the overused TV14 rating, only vaguely useful. Especially as most companies won’t tell you why they gave it that rating, making you wonder: Nudity? Language? Bloody limbs being used as boat paddles?! WHY?!

And so, here we are. Here you are. And I like to think, at least once, my heavily opinionated, sarcastic, lumpy posts have helped you in your quest for anime, my friend. I know, strangely, they’ve helped me. In the last three years I’ve reconnected with anime, watching new streams, keeping better track of companies and releases, all for the sake of up-keeping a little sliver of internet space.

So, thank you for reading. For commenting. For liking.

And just for fun- Let’s throw out some stats!

Weirdest search terms used on my blog:

  • Winry “unbuttoned”
    (what does that even mean?)
  • Mythical Villains Pictures
    (…wait, what?)
  • xxxHolic nudity
    (got this one multiple times. Let me comfort you on this)
  • Tsuritama shirtless
    (….why?)
  • Adult anime
    (I think you’re on the wrong site)

My most viewed Review:
Black Cat

My most viewed Extra:
Your Feminism in my FMA

My top commenter:
Congratz Artemis!

And that wraps up post 201. So, faithful readers, what do you think? Is this site useful to you? Is it missing something? Do you too burn with the need for mythical villains pictures?

This entry was posted in Extras and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , by inrosegalaxy. Bookmark the permalink.

About inrosegalaxy

Raised on everything from Moby Dick to the Star Wars X-Wing books from a young age, it came as no surprise to anyone who knew me that I’d become a literature graduate and avid writer. But my love of a good story wasn’t restricted to the written word in my early years. Star Trek, Mystery Science Theater 3000, and badly dubbed Godzilla flicks helped shape my love of science fiction on screen as well. I wrote my first story while in the second grade. It was a horrifying tale about murdering a fairy-eating dog via a slice of pizza (in my defense, my only exposure to pizza was in the cafeteria and I swear you could legitimately kill someone with those things). I was a special snowflake. Today I write science fiction, fairy tales, Gothic epistolaries, fantasy and anything else that pops into my bizarre and twisted mind. I write new articles for my blog every Tuesday and Thursday. And if you happen to fancy Japanese animation, I also run an anime review blog, RRAR, which updates every Monday.

6 thoughts on “Extra: 200 posts, ratings and pressing on

  1. 200 (okay, 201), congrats :-)
    Sadly, Winry “unbuttoned” is probably a pr0n search. Like your other top searches lololol.
    I am burning for some Mythical Villians!!! Do you know what page that search directs you to? :-P

    • lol. Noooo idea. I’m guessing my No Results page, as my tagging system is pretty sensitive. If you misspell something it will just give you No Results, unlike general google searches which will give you options.
      And I figured it was something of that nature, but still I just found it hilarious that they were searching for that on this site to begin with. Talk about oblivious. xD

  2. Omg I get top commenter? I want my virtual cookie with that award.

    Seriously though, you run a good blog here. You have your own opinions that you present very openly but never disrespectfully, and you write well. It’s more than I can say for probably the majority of other anime bloggers out there, so commenting on your posts is no hardship. Nice job on 200+ posts!

    • Thank you ^^ I think I’m only more… gentle (?) in my reviews on here due to having time to calm down between having finished a show and writing the review. It’s the good side of having to watch an entire show before reviewing it. Gives me a chance to breathe and think about it more. Not that such an action saves too many from an occasional rant or two via Extras. ;)

      I always enjoy hearing your opinions in your posts as well. You still hanging in there for some of the shows this streaming season? Or did you drop a few more?
      I think I only have three going myself, at best.

      • Not that there’s anything with having a rant every so often – better out than in sometimes – but I tend to think it’s good for people to wait before reviewing. It stops those knee-jerk reactions that so often seem to pervade entire reviews.

        Yup, still going with this season, though there’s not long to go now before everything wraps up. Kill la Kill and Samurai Flamenco are carry-overs from the fall season, but I’m still liking both. From the winter season, Norgami, Space Dandy, and the second season of Gin no Saji are my top shows. However, I’m also hanging in there with Toaru Hikuushi e no Koiuta and Inari, Konkon, Koi Iroha. I know people have been complaining a lot, but I’ve actually found the winter line-up to be quite satisfactory in general.

      • It certainly hasn’t been a bad streaming season. Just not mind blowing. Which is fine. Really unique shows only come around once in awhile, after all.
        I kinda feel like this season is… casual? I mean, there isn’t any show where the current episode ends and I’m thinking, “I HAVE TO SEE THE NEXT ONE NOW!” So it feels pretty chill overall. I’m in no hurry to see the next episode, though I do enjoy them as I’m watching them.

Leave a Reply

