Captain Earth Review

ctitleStory:
Daichi’s father was a captain. A space captain who fought to protect the earth from invaders. Years after his death, Diachi finds himself back on the last island his father was on. And ends up meeting, and awakening, a young girl who may be the key to earth’s last defense.

Violence:
This is (supposedly) a mecha show, so violence is a must. That said, there’s not too much blood flung around overall. Aside from some bloody noses and gun shot wounds you never get a good look at, the violence is pretty tame really.

Language:
The usual TV14 stuff is here in force. The d-mns, sh-ts and occasional b-words. It’s not excessive, and no f-bombs as I recall, but there all the same.

Nudity:
Ok, so this is the worst aspect of this show. So, aside from more than a few absolutely pointless swimsuit scenes, thin nightgown scenes and Hana being naked in some weird lifepod of fluid before being awoken (without details, as usual), there’s a shower scene with the heavily endowed female enemy and she walks up to her partner completely naked, cause, ya know, why the heck not? Oh yeah, did I mention the whole end part where Hana has to be butt naked to control the ship jumping into hyperspace cause boobs and butts and, again, why the heck not? Did I mention that while there is no detail it’s still uber disturbing because a huge gun is riiight in the crotch area and it really makes you wonder why in the world did I even finish this show? Oh yeah, because I’m far too stubborn for my own good.

Theology/mythology:
Aside from genetically altered psychopaths spouting the age old Hitler trash about being the “superior humans,” not much here to say.

Personal impression:
Pride comes before a fall. Legit, kids. Listen and learn well from my mistakes. This show sucked hard. It sucked very hard. And I really should have dropped it around episode two or three. Because episode one really wasn’t that bad. But two and three pretty much destroy any good stuff set up in the first episode. I saw the warning signs and ignored them. Partly because I wanted to write a review for you all and partly because I really wanted to believe studio Bones could make a good original show. I’m sorry. They can’t.
Aside from the horrendous tub of clichés used in the show, the amount of actual mech combat is just plain pitiful. Most of the show is drama and technical garbage punctuated with the occasional bit of pure stupidity. “Designer children?” Really, Bones? And an enemy organization called “Salty Dog?” That’s a dive bar you go to drown your sorrows, not a group to be feared. Also, using a tin can to talk to your boss is something I expect out of a parody, not a show that’s really trying to be taken seriously as a mech show and a drama.
And ohhhh the drama. That’s what’s going down while mechs aren’t on the screen. Which is about 90% of the show. I hope you like flat chested energetic girls and big chested “pure” girls and overly cute and obnoxious mascot characters because you’re going to choke on them. A lot.
Oh and don’t even get me started on getting any answers to questions posed in the very first episode. See that blue haired chick in the screenshots? Yeah, noooo clue who she is. NEVER explained. It’s like the first episode was made by a guy trying to get funded for this epic idea, he passed out after making episode one, and then a half asleep manga writer hyped up on caffeine and too much ramen was pulled in to write the rest.
Suffice to say that this was one of the worst mech shows I’ve seen in a long while, even the art and music is mediocre, at best. So why did I stick with it? Pride. It’s a bad thing, kids. I was at episode 12, thinking I was about done and in the clear for review writing when they just kept coming. I realized too late the show was 25 painful episodes long. Had I known beforehand I would have to go through that much, I would have dropped it long ago. I should have dropped it regardless. But I thought I could power through. And I did. But at what cost? At. What. Cost.

Personal rating: Young adult

Episodes: 25
Languages: Sub
Official rating: TV14
Genre(s): Mecha, fantasy, drama
Company: Shochiku
Official streaming: Crunchyroll
Screenshots:
ce2ce1ce3

This entry was posted in Ages: Young Adult, Anime Reviews, shochiku, TV Series and tagged , , by inrosegalaxy. Bookmark the permalink.

About inrosegalaxy

Raised on everything from Moby Dick to the Star Wars X-Wing books from a young age, it came as no surprise to anyone who knew me that I’d become a literature graduate and avid writer. But my love of a good story wasn’t restricted to the written word in my early years. Star Trek, Mystery Science Theater 3000, and badly dubbed Godzilla flicks helped shape my love of science fiction on screen as well. I wrote my first story while in the second grade. It was a horrifying tale about murdering a fairy-eating dog via a slice of pizza (in my defense, my only exposure to pizza was in the cafeteria and I swear you could legitimately kill someone with those things). I was a special snowflake. Today I write science fiction, fairy tales, Gothic epistolaries, fantasy and anything else that pops into my bizarre and twisted mind. I write new articles for my blog every Tuesday and Thursday. And if you happen to fancy Japanese animation, I also run an anime review blog, RRAR, which updates every Monday.

8 thoughts on “Captain Earth Review

  1. Definitely one of the most disappointing shows I’ve seen in a long time – not because it was so insanely terrible, but because I expected far better from this studio and the staff involved. I think there were some redeeming factors, like that fantastic first OP and some really lovely visuals, but the writing was poor enough that despite my determination, I never made it past the first handful of episodes. Such a shame to see good potential like this so squandered.

    • It really is. Especially because when Bones does well, they do REALLY well. But so far, those good titles of theirs have been based on already made works, mainly manga. Whenever they try to do an original work… not so much. I don’t know if it’s just the writing staff being lazy as heck or if the directors are lost or what, but they just CAN’T manage an original show. It’s sad.

      • I’m not sure I agree with that final part of your comment. Much of their recent original work admittedly hasn’t been great, but some of their older original titles are absolutely fantastic – Wolf’s Rain and Eureka Seven immediately spring to mind.

      • I really disliked Eureka Seven, personally. But I can’t say anything about Wolf’s Rain as I’ve never gotten the chance to watch that one. I really should though considering that it’s kinda considered a classic these days.
        …Just looked it up and it’s up for free streaming via Hulu! Surprising as Bandai had the title and most of their US streaming was dropped or shifted around after they closed their US branch. I’ll put it on my list to check out ^^

      • Ah, that’s a shame. I’m not a mecha or even a sci-fi fan, but I adore Eureka Seven. Still, to each their own – I’ll not hold someone’s personal tastes against them. I do hope you enjoy Wolf’s Rain whenever you get around to watching it though. It is indeed generally considered a classic, but more importantly, I absolutely believe it to be one of the highest quality anime out there. I’d happily rank it right up there with the likes of Cowboy Bebop.

      • Well, I just watched the first episode (the stream of it is the dub. That’s pretty rare. Been awhile since I heard these voice actors!), and I must say I was impressed. The narration the first minute or so was a bit off putting. I would have rather they just skipped into the action as the deeper meaning of any narration that early isn’t going to mean much as we don’t yet know the characters. But that’s a small issue. Lots of anime (and US shows) fall for that issue, so it’s not uncommon. And it was only a minute anyway.
        The artwork is higher quality than I thought it’d be. Aaand the music is older. That op hasn’t aged well. Veeery 80s, but the setting also reminds me of 80’s books about gangs (I have an odd reading history). So yeah, I’m not sure how I feel about the 80s vibe…
        Overall though it was interesting enough for me to want to see a few more episodes. Although I’m not sure how much worse the violence will get, so I might not be able to review it on this site. Violence is a hard line to draw on here. :/

      • I honestly can’t remember how violent things get on-screen – it’s been quite a while since I’ve watched it. But yeah, the dub is awesome; I personally tend to prefer the Japanese tracks for most anime, but I always watch Wolf’s Rain in English.

  2. Pingback: Monthly Girls’ Nozaki-kun Review | Risembool Ranger Anime Reviews

Leave a Reply

