Monthly Girls’ Nozaki-kun Review

monthlygirlsStory:
Chiyo Sakura has fallen in love. But when she attempts to confess her feelings for her crush, Nozaki, he kinda sorta misunderstands. And Chiyo ends up sitting in his apartment as his manga assistant. Well, she did want to get closer to him…

Violence:
There’s very little violence in this show as it’s a slice-of-life comedy. Some gag jokes might show a bit of blood, but it’s small and never permanent.

Language:
Again, light stuff here. The usual d-mns and sh-ts with maybe one instance of a b-word. But it’s not heavy at all.

Nudity:
Again, nothing to fear here. Even though this is a romantic comedy, we’re spared any of the coarser clichés, like shower scenes and such. That said, there is a character that is female, but often acts male and is frequently cast as a male character in plays. This causes a little bit of gender confusion in a few spots.

Theology/mythology:
Nothing really here to comment on either. One character sings very well, so she is compared to an angel and a siren more than once. But that’s about it.

Personal impression:
Ah, finally a wonderful show to share with you all! After the gross disappointment that was Capitan Earth, I needed this show badly. Originally I didn’t have too much hope for it as it was a shoujo comedy. And most shoujo comedies are just sorta funny. Not gut-busting. But this show definitely hit a high note and I couldn’t have been happier with it. Even the ending, which didn’t really conclude the romantic side of the show, didn’t give the show any negative points. After all, since most of the show leaned so heavily on comedy, and the personality of the male love interest is more dense than lava rock, it made perfect sense to leave the romance open ended. It also provided an opening for more seasons in the future. Something I really want to see and am crossing my fingers for.
Overall the art and music are pretty typical. Nothing really amazing and nothing boring. But the characters’ personalities, especially Sakura’s bluntness and Nozaki’s inability to think outside the manga-verse, make this show one of the best comedies I’ve seen since My Ordinary Life. If you find shoujo clichés laughable, you’ll love over half the comedy in this show. And even if you don’t know much about shoujo as a genre, Nozaki-kun is a great great little comedy to enjoy. Especially that entire sequence with the bike. And in the rain. And pretty much the whole thing, really.

Personal rating: 10+

Episodes: 12
Languages: Sub
Official rating: TVPG
Genre(s): Comedy, slice-of-life, romance
Company: Media Factory
Official streaming: Crunchyroll
Screenshots:
mgn2mgn1mgn3

This entry was posted in Ages: 10+, Anime Reviews, Media Factory, TV Series and tagged , , , by inrosegalaxy. Bookmark the permalink.

About inrosegalaxy

Raised on everything from Moby Dick to the Star Wars X-Wing books from a young age, it came as no surprise to anyone who knew me that I’d become a literature graduate and avid writer. But my love of a good story wasn’t restricted to the written word in my early years. Star Trek, Mystery Science Theater 3000, and badly dubbed Godzilla flicks helped shape my love of science fiction on screen as well. I wrote my first story while in the second grade. It was a horrifying tale about murdering a fairy-eating dog via a slice of pizza (in my defense, my only exposure to pizza was in the cafeteria and I swear you could legitimately kill someone with those things). I was a special snowflake. Today I write science fiction, fairy tales, Gothic epistolaries, fantasy and anything else that pops into my bizarre and twisted mind. I write new articles for my blog every Tuesday and Thursday. And if you happen to fancy Japanese animation, I also run an anime review blog, RRAR, which updates every Monday.

3 thoughts on “Monthly Girls’ Nozaki-kun Review

  1. I thoroughly enjoyed this show. I honestly hadn’t expected to – it hadn’t even been on my to-watch list that season – but I’m so glad I let people convince me. What I expected was a lot of cheap fanservice and tired slapstick comedy, but what I got was genuine hilarity and some honest-to-god originality. I had a ball!

  2. Pingback: Cute High Earth Defense Club LOVE! Review | Risembool Ranger Anime Reviews

Leave a Reply

