Psychic Detective Yakumo Review

yakumoStory:
Haruka Ozawa seems to be a magnate for strange and creepy events. Luckily for her, Yakumo Saito also attends her school. Unfriendly and standoffish, Saito has the uncanny ability to see and communicate with ghosts.

Violence:
We don’t get subjected to large amounts of blood, but there are police cases (quite a few) that deal with very violent deaths. Although the violence levels don’t cross the PG14 line, the disturbing aspects come close. If violence, even the idea of it, puts you off, skip this show.

Language:
Not the best, but not the worst. A few sh-ts and d-mns. A few b-sterds as well. Nothing too frequent though.

Nudity:
We’re actually spared from dealing with this (besides the male lead being shirtless in one scene), for which I am grateful. That said, one character is raped. We never see it, but from the dialog we know it happened and it resulted in a child. It’s handled very tastefully, but be warned if this kind of thing triggers you.

Theology/mythology:
Ghosts. You need to be chill with that or this show will suck for you. Also, the male lead’s uncle is a Buddhist priest, so the ideas of forgiveness and letting the past go are brought up a decent amount of the time (I actually really enjoyed this as it felt natural for these topics to be brought up considering the characters concerned).

Personal impression:
A pretty darn decent show, overall. I went in expecting very little, but ended up enjoying it far more than I thought. I really liked how issues like depression, forgiveness and points-of-view were handled throughout. I can’t elaborate too much unless I give plot points away, but let’s just say I was expecting the creators to take the chicken way out with the script and have one of the MCs fall for really crap reasoning because, well, “plot.” Thankfully, that didn’t really happen and the series closed with a very human (and very heroic!) character.
As for the music and art, they were pretty standard for when this series was launched. Nothing stood out, but neither was it bad.
In the end, if you’re chill with supernatural stories, this is actually a pretty darn solid series. It even contains -gasp!- character development. Just be well warned that there are some very messed up villains in this show. So look for your rainbows and unicorn carousels elsewhere.

Personal rating: Young adult

Episodes: 13
Languages: Sub
Official rating: TV14
Genre(s): Supernatural, action, drama
Company: Sentai Filmworks
Official streaming: Hulu

This entry was posted in Ages: Young Adult, Anime Reviews, Sentai Filmworks, TV Series and tagged , , by inrosegalaxy. Bookmark the permalink.

About inrosegalaxy

Raised on everything from Moby Dick to the Star Wars X-Wing books from a young age, it came as no surprise to anyone who knew me that I’d become a literature graduate and avid writer. But my love of a good story wasn’t restricted to the written word in my early years. Star Trek, Mystery Science Theater 3000, and badly dubbed Godzilla flicks helped shape my love of science fiction on screen as well. I wrote my first story while in the second grade. It was a horrifying tale about murdering a fairy-eating dog via a slice of pizza (in my defense, my only exposure to pizza was in the cafeteria and I swear you could legitimately kill someone with those things). I was a special snowflake. Today I write science fiction, fairy tales, Gothic epistolaries, fantasy and anything else that pops into my bizarre and twisted mind. I write new articles for my blog every Tuesday and Thursday. And if you happen to fancy Japanese animation, I also run an anime review blog, RRAR, which updates every Monday.

Leave a Reply

