Flying Witch Review

flying witchStory:
Makoto is training to be a witch, but she still has quite a bit to learn! For now she’ll be staying with a normal family in the beautiful Japanese town of Aomori.

Violence:
You couldn’t get more slice-of-life if you tried. So, yeah, no violence in this one.

Language:
Aside from a d-mn or two, nothing here either.

Nudity:
We have some tight clothing here and there, but very tame stuff.

Theology/mythology:
This is where some will draw the line. If the title puts you off, leave this one be. Because spells and such do occur in this show frequently. It’s almost all cutesy and herb based stuff, but it’s magic nonetheless. If you aren’t chill with that, best to leave this series alone.

Personal impression:
Good gravy was this show slooooooow. It was also very pointless. Very. I can’t even stress that enough. Think slice-of-life with zero plot, zero tension and no introspection of the characters. Nothing. Notta. Zip. Honestly, the only thing this show has going for it would be the steady art. It was very clean and smooth, I’ll give it that. But there’s nothing else about this show that stands out. Besides it being…. boring. Very boring.
At first I watched thinking somewhere down the line there would be pressure for the MC to suddenly get better at a spell or overcome some obstacle, even a small one. Something. But no dice. Nothing ever happened in this show. Not even the smallest character development. Nothing.
I once described this show to one of my faithful readers as a “plateau.” And having now watched the whole thing, I can saftly say I’m still right. It’s just flat land as far as you can see. No hills, no character, just flat nothing for miles. That’s this show in a nutshell.
Again, that might be your ticket if you like super laid-back shows to unwind to. It’s a very calming series. It just isn’t anything else…

Personal rating: All ages

Episodes: 12
Languages: Sub
Official rating: PG
Genre: Slice of life, fantasy
Company: NTV
Official streaming: Crunchyroll

This entry was posted in Ages: All Audiences, Anime Reviews, NTV, TV Tokyo and tagged , , by inrosegalaxy. Bookmark the permalink.

About inrosegalaxy

Raised on everything from Moby Dick to the Star Wars X-Wing books from a young age, it came as no surprise to anyone who knew me that I’d become a literature graduate and avid writer. But my love of a good story wasn’t restricted to the written word in my early years. Star Trek, Mystery Science Theater 3000, and badly dubbed Godzilla flicks helped shape my love of science fiction on screen as well. I wrote my first story while in the second grade. It was a horrifying tale about murdering a fairy-eating dog via a slice of pizza (in my defense, my only exposure to pizza was in the cafeteria and I swear you could legitimately kill someone with those things). I was a special snowflake. Today I write science fiction, fairy tales, Gothic epistolaries, fantasy and anything else that pops into my bizarre and twisted mind. I write new articles for my blog every Tuesday and Thursday. And if you happen to fancy Japanese animation, I also run an anime review blog, RRAR, which updates every Monday.

6 thoughts on “Flying Witch Review

  1. I have to agree. So many people loved this show and I had to stop watching around the episode 4 or 5 mark when it became clear there just wasn’t going to be anything to break up the calm. That said, it is a beautifully made slice of life for people who like that sort of thing but I really needed some sort of conflict or problem to keep me interested and it just didn’t develop.
    Thanks for sharing.

    • True. Visually it was quite beautiful. Especially that first scene you see our MC fly a little while picking out a broom. The flow of the animation is gorgeous. It’s just too bad that flat lining was all this show was interested in. Though, if’s that’s your gig, I suppose this would be perfect. I just wish there had been sooomething. Even if it was just her struggling to get a single spell right and failing a lot and then her finally getting at the end. Even as little as THAT would have made it better.

  2. And here I thought I was the only one who didn’t fall head over heels in love with this series. I didn’t dislike it, but normally I’m all over slow-paced, supernatural/slice-of-life fare and I found this one too dull even for my tastes. I dig the fact that more and more mainstream anime TV shows showcasing life in rural Japan (though none on Shikoku yet, damnit!), but other than that I had precious little to say about this title at all.

    • Yeah, I’m enjoying seeing a setting outside of Tokyo. But it’d still be nice if they kept it from going into the bland territory and made sure to show some area specific things. There was a bit of that in this, but not much. Especially considering they weren’t really DOING anything in this show so they had the time to be a little more specific and really use their location more than they did.

  3. I agree with you this anime is so slow story. And if you want something different, how about this?
    In Facebook, There’s “Flying Witch Petit” clip, short anime for promoting main series. So I watched.

    I watched this 2 minutes anime and maximum kawaii 3D punches sent me flying & knockout like that from this overwhelming power, their cuteness are too much for me. That’s why, after I recovered (from injury), I did anime review for respecting their level SS cuteness.

    If you want to explore, you can see Petit via post link in my username.
    warning: please prepare your body & soul before proceed it.

  4. Pingback: Prince of Stride: Alternative Review | Risembool Ranger Anime Reviews

Leave a Reply

