Sweetness & Lightning Review

sweetnessStory:
Kohei is a single father and school teacher who can’t cook to save his life. Feeling like he’s letting his small daughter down, he begs culinary help from one of his students who’s mother is a professional chef.

Violence:
None. Kohei gets one or two toddler kicks to the face in temper-tantrums, but nothing even remotely serious.

Language:
Another one we’re safe on. There might be one or two spots where an older character curses to themselves, but sh-t is as harsh as it ever gets.

Nudity:
Another one you don’t have to worry about. Nudity free!

Theology/mythology:
Aside from a magical girl show being a favorite of Kohei’s daughter, nothing much going on here either.

Personal impression:
It’s pretty rare for me to review a show that is safe for anyone to watch, but I’m always happy when I do. And, I won’t lie, I enjoyed this nice, cheerful break from the usual drama in anime.
That said, near the end of this show’s run, we did get a bit more melancholy thrown our way. Even so, this show remained largely bright, which was nice considering the other shows in my line up this season.
As far as characters go, no one stood out as super unique, but nothing was too terribly written either. There were hints of character development, but not as much as I would have liked. The art and music kept up with the theme of the show and the mood and remained consistent. And, blissfully, we avoided any strange romantic entanglements.
Overall, this is a great little feel-good show. It has a few serious moments, but they don’t last too long and thus you almost always end on a good note.
If you want a nice, safe, bright show that makes you want to eat and cook up a storm, this is a great watch.

Personal rating: All ages

Episodes: 12
Languages: Sub
Official rating: TVPG
Genre: Slice of life
Company: Sumitomo Corp
Official streaming: Crunchyroll

This entry was posted in Ages: All Audiences, Anime Reviews, Sumitomo corp., TV Series and tagged , , by inrosegalaxy. Bookmark the permalink.

About inrosegalaxy

Raised on everything from Moby Dick to the Star Wars X-Wing books from a young age, it came as no surprise to anyone who knew me that I’d become a literature graduate and avid writer. But my love of a good story wasn’t restricted to the written word in my early years. Star Trek, Mystery Science Theater 3000, and badly dubbed Godzilla flicks helped shape my love of science fiction on screen as well. I wrote my first story while in the second grade. It was a horrifying tale about murdering a fairy-eating dog via a slice of pizza (in my defense, my only exposure to pizza was in the cafeteria and I swear you could legitimately kill someone with those things). I was a special snowflake. Today I write science fiction, fairy tales, Gothic epistolaries, fantasy and anything else that pops into my bizarre and twisted mind. I write new articles for my blog every Tuesday and Thursday. And if you happen to fancy Japanese animation, I also run an anime review blog, RRAR, which updates every Monday.

2 thoughts on “Sweetness & Lightning Review

  1. I liked Sweetness and Lightning a fair bit. I was a touch worried that Kotori was crushing on her teacher, but they didn’t go there (at least not in the anime, the manga is ongoing AFAIK).

Leave a Reply

