WWW.WAGNARIA Review

news_xlarge_www_workingStory:
Daisuke Higashida is unfortunate enough to be the oldest child of a family of idiots. When his father loses his job and doesn’t get another, he’s forced to work part-time himself to get enough money for his family to live. He also has the horrid luck of applying for said job at a family restaurant filled with crazy people.

Violence:
Slap stick only for this one, though some of that slap stick does use blood and such as a visual aid now and again so be warned.

Language:
The usual TV14 levels of d-mn and sh-t apply.

Nudity:
Besides some innuendo in a few spots, nothing to put in this section, which is nice.

Theology/mythology:
One character can see and communicate with the dead, a running joke in the show. Her mother is also an exorcist. One character is supposedly a ghost herself. If these things bug you, you might want to skip this show.

Personal impression:
This show was easily the funniest of the season for me. The cast was solid and not as predictable as I had originally feared. Which isn’t to say this was super unique. Not quite. But it was very enjoyable as it was also a title I ran into by accident. At the time I started this one, no one else was really talking about it.
Art and music don’t stand out in the slightest, and the plot doesn’t really exist, so really the comedy is the only selling point for this title. But it sells it well. Even the couples that form as the series progresses continue to be comedic landmines, despite (or perhaps because of) their happy endings. If you’re worried romantic angles will take away from the comedy, this is one title that goes in the opposite direction. It gets funnier. There’s even a bit of character growth thrown in near the end.
Overall, if you’d like a comedy with little to no depth and/or ever wished Spock was an anime lead, this might be the one for you (our main male lead is known for being pretty emotionless on the outside).

Personal rating: Young adult

Episodes: 13
Languages: sub
Official rating: TV14
Genres: Comedy, slice of life
Production: A-1 Pictures
Company: Aniplex
Official streaming: Crunchyroll

This entry was posted in A - 1 Pictures, TV Series, Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , , by inrosegalaxy. Bookmark the permalink.

About inrosegalaxy

Raised on everything from Moby Dick to the Star Wars X-Wing books from a young age, it came as no surprise to anyone who knew me that I’d become a literature graduate and avid writer. But my love of a good story wasn’t restricted to the written word in my early years. Star Trek, Mystery Science Theater 3000, and badly dubbed Godzilla flicks helped shape my love of science fiction on screen as well. I wrote my first story while in the second grade. It was a horrifying tale about murdering a fairy-eating dog via a slice of pizza (in my defense, my only exposure to pizza was in the cafeteria and I swear you could legitimately kill someone with those things). I was a special snowflake. Today I write science fiction, fairy tales, Gothic epistolaries, fantasy and anything else that pops into my bizarre and twisted mind. I write new articles for my blog every Tuesday and Thursday. And if you happen to fancy Japanese animation, I also run an anime review blog, RRAR, which updates every Monday.

One thought on “WWW.WAGNARIA Review

Leave a Reply

