Flip Flappers Review

6f23cba5886611b854a147890757cdfa1475754586_largeStory:
Cocona is a straight laced student, dedicated and always on time. Until she bumps into a strange girl named Papika who drags her down into a strange alternate world called Pure Illusion where they must find magical crystals that supposedly have wish granting abilities. So much for perfect attendance.

Violence:
At first it seemed blood violence would be low in this, but around midway it jolts up and by the end it’s decently high. Bullet wounds, monsters cut in half and spewing blood… Think between Black Cat and FMA levels.

Language:
The isn’t too bad. A rare b-word in a few spots, but mostly just sh-ts and d-mns.

Nudity:
Ok, here’s where it gets strange. This series is obviously trying to address some queer questions, but unfortunately they stumble into sexulizing it here and there. Like both characters suddenly in lingerie with one implying they should “have some fun together.” Nothing actually happens, but it’s awkward to say the least. We also have a villain early on who has a bunch of other female “creatures” (?) in bondage poses. It’s really brief, but undeniably inappropriate.

Theology/mythology:
Super powers that create other dimensions, a cult that surrounds these special people, if any of that bugs you, this isn’t for you.

Personal impression:
My thoughts on this one are… complex. On one hand I liked a few of the questions that were brought up for the lead. I felt her musings on her emotions were actually realistic and came about pretty naturally despite the strange chaotic set up. But that was one of my main issues with this title. The choatic nature of it all. The first few episodes are kinda all over the map, as if the creators had some characters and a vague story idea, but no clue how to execute it. Eventually they got into a better rhythm, but it was still rough enough to leave me lost here and there, wondering if I missed a scene and backing up to make sure. And the decent fight scenes about midway through were lost pretty fast as well, the animation getting shotty at the drop of a hat. While we’re spared the horrid fate of still scenes with dialog only (a sure sign that production fell WAY behind), the separate realities don’t really keep in line symbolically with what the characters are going through at the end and more than a few cliches kept the climax from feeling all that, well, climatic. In the end I simply found myself relieved it was over. A shame as a few scenes here and there showed promise. If they had a tighter vision and team, this might have been a better show.
Of course, staying away from sexulizing scenes that contained queer exploration would have been nice. In fact, staying away from the sleazy scenes period would have been nice, but whatever.
In the end, if you’re cool with trippy visuals and moe and conveluted plotlines, you might like this one. It’s not horrid. It just… could have been better.

Personal rating: Young adult

Episodes: 13
Language: sub
Official rating: TV14
Genres: Fantasy, adventure
Production: Studio 3Hz
Company: Showgate
Official streaming: Crunchyroll and Yahoo View

This entry was posted in Ages: Young Adult, Anime Reviews, Showgate, Studio 3Hz, TV Series and tagged , , , , , by inrosegalaxy. Bookmark the permalink.

About inrosegalaxy

Raised on everything from Moby Dick to the Star Wars X-Wing books from a young age, it came as no surprise to anyone who knew me that I’d become a literature graduate and avid writer. But my love of a good story wasn’t restricted to the written word in my early years. Star Trek, Mystery Science Theater 3000, and badly dubbed Godzilla flicks helped shape my love of science fiction on screen as well. I wrote my first story while in the second grade. It was a horrifying tale about murdering a fairy-eating dog via a slice of pizza (in my defense, my only exposure to pizza was in the cafeteria and I swear you could legitimately kill someone with those things). I was a special snowflake. Today I write science fiction, fairy tales, Gothic epistolaries, fantasy and anything else that pops into my bizarre and twisted mind. I write new articles for my blog every Tuesday and Thursday. And if you happen to fancy Japanese animation, I also run an anime review blog, RRAR, which updates every Monday.

13 thoughts on “Flip Flappers Review

  1. Interesting! I actually came away with a very different impression: I really liked the wandering adventures that the early half of the series contained. It had a lot of visual pizzazz and developed the characters through their shared experience. Once they moved towards a more standard plot the show lost me. As you said it becomes a bit confusing. A lot of this was due to (at least from what I understand) the head writer being let go and the production committee taking over. It’s a shame because I really see the show as having a strong start and getting progressively less engaging until the end where I had just lost all connection with it.

    • I don’t mind wondering adventure, but as a writer I could tell they were trying for heavy symbolism despite it not really lining up right all the time. This made the wondering a bit too chaotic for me. Once the symbolism synced up to what the characters were actually struggling with, such as the MC trying to figure out what exactly Papika is to her, I could grasp it a bit better. IT was still chaotic, but had more purpose to it, which I can get behind. But, as you said, the plot got convoluted as it went on as well. It’s such a shame. Artistic titles like this don’t come around every day and if it was handled better, this could have been really good.
      I didn’t know about the head writer being dropped. Wonder which episode was his last… It certainly explains the huge change in tone!

      • Oh, I really liked Cocona discovering how she felt for Papika, I just think it worked better for me in the earlier part of the series instead of when the drama stomped its way in.

        I think the writer was dropped around episode 8 or 9 which is when the series got worse for me. I didn’t know about it until a few episodes after it happened but it made everything make sense.

      • That makes perfect sense then. That’s around when the plot took a nosedive and stuff started hitting all at once. Such a shame… Did he leave for personal reasons or was there just too big of an artistic difference between himself and the staff?

      • I think it was artistic differences. Maybe the show wasn’t doing too well? But if that was the case then I think it’s still better to follow through on the initial plan since it then has a chance to pick up steam later.

      • Interesting…. The time frames indicated in this posts, and the supposed changes made indicate the original script might have made the earlier, more chaotic worlds, make more sense by tying them at the end… That would make sense. As it stands, what was even the point of episode two (with the bunny)? Or was it three? The symbolism in the world seemed to follow Cocona’s psyche at first. She was worried her current path would lead to death and that Papika was at fault for it. But some of the symbolism, like the chewing and stuff seemed to imply repressed desires… That’s never really wrapped up well later on. I mean, why did she suddenly have fun? That never sat well with me and it was early on. I wonder if strange issues with motivation would have been addressed too… Also, from episode 7 or 8, the tone of the worlds changes drastically so it makes sense overall. I wonder how it would have all wrapped up if she hadn’t left the team…

      • I took that episode to be a stepping stone in their growth, building their reliance on one another. But most of all I just found it be a fun adventure. Perhaps that’s what I wanted out of this show more than anything, a fun adventure with strong character arcs that developed naturally throughout.

        I never thought about the chewing like that though, that’s interesting. I honestly have no idea what they were intending with that, I just took it to be a rabbit thing but in retrospect it’s definitely a symbolic series so your interpretation sounds accurate.

      • Yeah, I get where you’re coming from. Come to think of it, it’s actually becoming rather rare to find really straight forward shows of kids just having adventures. Especially if you want it to be appropriate for All Ages. When I first started Flip Flappers, I was kinda hoping it would stay on the cleaner side. No such luck.
        Even if I set the plot issues aside, this series could have at least left the fanservice and sleaze behind. I’m really getting tired of that stuff being thrown willy-nilly into every show, even ones not targeted for that kind of crowd in the first place. Cause I don’t care about boob shots in a show clearly going for servicing male fantasies and nothing else. That’s their target audience so whatever (I could go deeper into issues with de-humanizing genders, but that’s a whole other issue). But when you have a core audience that’s watching a show for totally different reasons, I find it insulting for random sleaze to slap you in the face, ya know? Not that it much maters in this case as the writing itself was all over the map anyway… But I gotta wonder if that sexualization was even on the original writer’s mind… I kinda doubt it. One of the worst episodes sexulizing the girls was episode 8, when the original writer was out of the picture entirely. There were some REALLY bad shots in that one. I doubt a kid would pick it up, but the angles were obviously intended to reference straight up hentai. It was really disturbing for me. If the costumes had been any skimpier I would have had to throw this in the Warning Zone just for that episode alone. I’m still wondering if I should have…

      • I can’t speak to what the writer did or didn’t want and I feel the fanservice was a bit out of place in this show (although I guess I didn’t notice it as being too gratuitous for the most part… outside of episode 8 really. That was the mecha one, right?), but I would argue this was never a kids show. I mean sure, it could appeal to that demographic as well but what it becomes is pretty dark and dreary.

      • Yes, episode 8 was the mecha one.
        Well, yeah, that was an issue. When the show started it was super bright and just… adventurey. So it might have worked. But it quickly became clear that wasn’t the intended audience. Which, again, is fine. But I still want less “fanservice” in these kind of shows, regardless of ages targeted. Just because it’s for YA or mature groups doesn’t mean it HAS to sexualize the VERY young cast.

  2. Pingback: Taste Test: Summer 2017 | Risembool Ranger Anime Reviews

Leave a Reply

